⛳
Buying Guide

Mini Golf Cart Buying Guide: What to Know Before You Buy

By Sumera Mukhida•September 24, 2026•6 min read
Mini Golf Cart Buying Guide: What to Know Before You Buy

A mini golf cart is a compact, two-seat electric cart for short trips on private property, golf paths, campuses and communities where carts are allowed. It takes less space to park and turn than a full-size cart. Both mini golf carts in our current range, the Panda and the S11 Mini, use a 2000W motor and a 72V 20Ah lead-acid battery, so the choice between them comes down to steering style, features and how much listed detail you need before buying.

Who a mini golf cart is for

These are adult-driven vehicles, not children’s ride-on toys. Neither listing gives a minimum driver age, so treat them as you would any powered cart: a responsible, capable driver who knows the area. The listings describe use cases such as golf ranges, gated communities, campuses, parks and short family trips, and the S11 listing specifically mentions its simple controls for seniors.

If you searched for a “mini golf cart” for a child, you probably want a kids’ ride-on with a similar look. Our ride-on jeeps and UTVs are built for kids, with age ranges and weight limits stated on each listing.

Panda vs S11 Mini at a glance

FeaturePandaS11 Mini
Motor / battery2000W, 72V 20Ah lead-acid2000W, 72V 20Ah lead-acid
Seats2, cushioned with backrests2, cushioned with back support
SteeringHandlebarSteering system (type not specified)
Listed top speedNot listedUp to 30 mph
Listed rangeNot listedUp to 30 miles
ChargingIncluded ETL/UL standard charger; time not listedAround 7–9 hours
BrakesNot specifiedFront and rear drum, hand and foot controls
ReverseNot mentionedYes
Load capacityNot listedAround 350 lbs
Weather protectionFixed roof, front windshieldRoof, glass windshield, automatic wiper
Lights and extrasNot specifiedLED headlights and blinkers, LCD display, Bluetooth speakers
Frame / tiresSteel frame, alloy-style rimsSteel frame, 3.5-10 vacuum (tubeless) tires

The S11 listing is far more detailed. If speed, range, brakes or carrying capacity matter to your decision on the Panda, ask us before buying rather than assuming it matches the S11.

Handlebar or steering wheel?

The Panda steers with a handlebar instead of a car-style wheel. Its listing describes this as quick to learn, with responsive turning that helps in tight spaces. Some drivers find a handlebar intuitive from bikes and scooters; others are more comfortable with a wheel because it feels like driving a car. If you can, sit in both at one of our stores before choosing. It is the most personal difference between the two carts.

What 2000W and 72V 20Ah mean in practice

A 2000W motor is far more powerful than any kids’ ride-on, and the 72V system delivers that power efficiently. The Panda listing ties this to carrying two passengers without strain and handling inclines better than lower-power carts. Actual performance on a hill still depends on the grade, the load and the battery’s state of charge.

The 20Ah figure describes how much energy the battery stores. Only the S11 lists a range (up to 30 miles), and real distance will be lower with two adults aboard, hills, frequent stops or cold weather. For a typical day of short trips around a property or community, overnight charging (the S11 lists 7–9 hours) is the usual routine.

Lead-acid batteries: what ownership involves

Both carts use lead-acid batteries. They are a long-established, cost-effective battery type, but they are heavy and they reward consistent charging habits:

  • Recharge after use rather than leaving the cart partly discharged for days.
  • If the cart will sit unused for a season, charge it fully first and top it up periodically according to the manual.
  • Keep the battery area clean and dry, and check terminals for corrosion.
  • Use only the charger supplied with the cart. The Panda includes an ETL/UL standard charger.

Many of the same storage principles appear in our ride-on maintenance and storage guide; for a golf cart, the owner’s manual takes priority.

Terrain: where these carts work best

Both are described for paved roads, golf paths and similar surfaces. The S11’s tubeless 3.5-10 tires are described as absorbing minor bumps on pavement, and both carts use a four-wheel layout on a steel frame. Neither listing describes them as off-road vehicles, and neither lists suspension details or ground clearance. Short stretches of firm gravel or packed grass at low speed are a different matter from rough trails, which these carts aren’t designed for.

Can you drive a mini golf cart on the street?

Don’t assume so. Neither listing describes these carts as street-legal vehicles, and rules depend on where you live. In Georgia, state law (O.C.G.A. § 40-6-331) allows cities and counties to authorize “personal transportation vehicles” (PTVs) on designated local streets by ordinance, and communities set their own conditions, such as registration, decals or which roads are allowed. Georgia’s PTV definition is built around vehicles with a top speed under 20 mph, so a cart listed at up to 30 mph, like the S11, may not fit that category at full speed.

Before driving on any road, check with your city or county and, if you live in a gated or HOA community, its rules. On your own property or a private course, the main rules are your own common sense: one passenger per seat, no riding on the back, and slow down on slopes and turns.

Storage, delivery and setup

A mini golf cart needs a dry, covered space, ideally a garage or carport, close to an outlet for charging. Neither listing gives overall dimensions, so ask us for measurements if your space is tight. Both carts have roofs, but a roof and windshield are not the same as weatherproof storage.

Large items like golf carts ship by freight, usually as curbside delivery, and the carrier schedules an appointment with you. Plan how you will move the cart from the curb to its storage spot, inspect it when it arrives, and report any damage to support@carzonetoys.com within 48 hours. Full details are in our shipping policy. In metro Atlanta and north Georgia, free local delivery is also available.

Which mini golf cart should you choose?

  • Choose the S11 Mini if you want the most complete listed spec: stated speed and range, front and rear drum brakes with hand and foot controls, reverse, a listed load capacity of around 350 lbs, lights and blinkers, a wiper and Bluetooth speakers.
  • Choose the Panda if you prefer handlebar steering and a simpler, compact cart with a roof and windshield for short, low-key trips, and you’re happy to confirm the specs its listing leaves out.

View the Panda electric golf cart, the S11 Mini electric golf cart, or the full mini golf cart collection.

Frequently asked questions

How many people can ride in a mini golf cart?

Both of our mini golf carts are two-seaters. The S11 lists a load capacity of around 350 lbs; the Panda listing doesn’t state one. Stay within the listed capacity and keep to one person per seat.

Can a teenager drive a mini golf cart?

Neither listing states a minimum driver age. On private property, that is a decision for the owner based on the driver’s maturity and the setting. On any public street, local ordinances and Georgia law apply, and many require a licensed driver, so check before allowing it.

How long does a mini golf cart battery take to charge?

The S11 lists around 7–9 hours, which makes overnight charging practical. The Panda’s charging time isn’t listed.

See them in person

A golf cart is a bigger purchase than a ride-on toy, and seating position and steering are worth trying first. Visit our Douglasville, Dawsonville or Stonecrest store or call (470) 399-8255 to ask about a specific cart.

Shopping for Christmas? See our ride-on gift picks by age & budget — order by Dec 5 for shipped delivery, or pick up free in Douglasville, Dawsonville or Stonecrest. Black Friday deals →

Ready to find the perfect ride?

Browse our full range of kids' ride-ons — fast, free U.S. shipping and free pickup at our Douglasville, Dawsonville and Stonecrest, GA stores.